NSW Farmers Goulburn branch meeting welcomes state president

NSW Farmers: Kirk, Goward, Cameron and Schoen. Photo: Dave Banham
NSW Farmers: Kirk, Goward, Cameron and Schoen. Photo: Dave Banham

NSW Farmers president Derek Schoen, Goulburn MP Pru Goward and Goulburn Mulwaree mayor Bob Kirk were guests at a recent NSW Farmers Goulburn branch meeting.

Goulburn branch chair Margaret Cameron said Mr Schoen, a Corowa farmer, provided an informative update on Association issues including quad bike safety, native vegetation legislation, use of drones and the success of the Country Connections Membership.

She said Cr Kirk spoke about progress with the proposed Goulburn to Crookwell Rail Trail and submissions for funding. “Negotiations with most landholders along the disused rail line have been positive, once potential issues of access [and] biosecurity ... have been addressed,” she said. “The council is excited about the potential boost to tourism income, but it was important the concerns of affected farmers were addressed.”

The meeting also reinforced the NSW Farmers’ Goulburn branch support for local initiatives related to food and fibre production.

“Members voted to continue to provide scholarships for Wool and Agriculture students at Goulburn TAFE and sponsorship for the Goulburn Show Society’s Young Farmer Challenge was again supported.

“A special grant will also be made to assist with sponsorship of the team from Goulburn who will be competing at the National Young Farmer Challenge in Adelaide later this year. It was good to welcome Tara Smith, one of the team, to our meeting.

“We will also continue to provide a scholarship for a third-year student at ANU Rural Medical School Goulburn Campus.”

Members also discussed a number of issues and moved motions to submit for debate at the NSW Farmers Annual Conference in Sydney in July.

Goulburn branch delegates to the Conference are Margaret Cameron, Nerida Cullen and Geoff Henderson. Alix Turner and Ron Cullen are among Executive Councillors for Region 11 who will attend Conference.

Regional Services manager Dave Banham took the chair for election of office bearers: Margaret Cameron [Chair], Alix Turner [Vice Chair], and Noel Lawton [Secretary/Treasurer].

Committee are Ben Taylor, Nerida Cullen, Geoff Henderson and Jillian Atkinson.

Ian McLennan will join Margaret Cameron as NSW Farmer reps on the Southern Tablelands Zone Bushfire Management Committee with Alix Turner as an alternate rep.

Andy Divall will be involved in any future Weeds meetings with the council and Ian McLennan will be on the South East Regional Weeds Committee [SEWRC].